Chartered Financial Analyst®

The examination

What will the exam cover?

What Covered

The CFA® exams are based on the Candidate Body of Knowledge, which is organised into ten major areas:

  • Ethical and Professional Standards
  • Quantitative Methods
  • Economics
  • Financial Reporting and Analysis
  • Corporate Finance
  • Equity Investments
  • Fixed Income
  • Derivatives
  • Alternative Investments
  • Portfolio Management and Wealth Planning

Each year the CFA Program curriculum consisting of assigned readings and Learning Outcome Statements is released, which highlights what you will be expected to know in the exam.

Beginning with the 2008 exams, your exam registration fee will include the cost of the CFA Program curriculum and one online sample exam.

What do the exams involve and when do they take place?

Entrants must pass three levels of examinations sequentially. Candidates face 6 hours of examination, broken down into two 3 hour sessions, one in the morning and one in the afternoon.

  • Level I exams takes place twice a year in June & December
  • Level II & III exams take place once a year in June

All courses will be supplied to you by BPP Professional Education and all study materials will be supplied to you by BPP Learning Media. For a full definition of study materials, please click here to review our Terms and Conditions.

CFA Institute does not endorse, promote or warrant the accuracy or quality of BPP Professional Education. CFA® and Chartered Financial Analyst® are registered trademarks owned by CFA Institute.

Find and book a course
cfa insititue